Griddle pan flapjacks

So under threat of bodily injury the LiveInBaker convinced me to wake up early one Sunday morning, to make her breakfast in bed.

Okay that’s a lie, because if it came down to a knife fight, I’m pretty sure that I could take her.

The real reason is that I had a new Typhoon Griddle plate from Yuppiechef, and as any guy with a new toy knows, I was dying to try it out.

Now apparently it is not appropriate to make steak for breakfast (I know, who came up with that rule?), so instead I went looking for an alternative meal to make. It wasn’t until I flipped the griddle pan over, that I realized not only did I have a griddle pan, but I also had a pretty handy flat plate. And what better to make on a flat plate than flapjacks. So I retired my usual method of making my flapjacks using my sandwich press, and got down to the serious business of finding a flapjack recipe that wouldn’t require a trip to town to get ingredients.

So early one Sunday morning, still with a bit of sleep in my eyes but luckily also with a strong cup of coffee in my hand, I got to work:

Griddle pan flapjacks:

Ingredients:

  • 500ml flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 5 tbsp sugar
  • 1 ½ tbsp butter, melted
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 tsp salt
  • 250ml milk

Beat the eggs and gradually add the sugar, or just dump it in and pretend it wasn’t a mistake, both methods seem to work. Add half of the milk and the melted butter to the egg mixture, stirring well.

Squeezing as many flapjacks as possible onto the flat plate

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt and add to the egg mixture. Gradually stir in the remaining milk to form a smooth batter.
I use a whisk to stir the batter until all the ingredients are well mixed, and there’s no lumps left in the batter.

A plate full of breakfast

Make sure the flat plate is nice and hot, I actually placed it over two of the smaller burners on my gas stove.
Once the plate is at a good heat, drop spoonfuls of the mixture onto the oiled flat plate, a dessert spoon gives around the right amount of batter to get you a flapjack which is around 5cm in diameter.
Turn once the top is full of air bubbles (bottom should be golden brown) and bake on the other side.

I served them with butter, honey, syrup, jam, peanut butter, and (what I am coining as the ultimate hangover breakfast) Marmite!

Tuck in!

I only really regret that we didn’t have any Nutella in the house.

And a tip, if your reading the recipe from an iPad, try not get batter on it, its a mission to clean it off.

Base recipe courtesy of: http://www.justeasyrecipes.co.za

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Griddle pan flapjacks

  1. Colleen says:

    What a great idea to make these little beauties on the back of the griddle pan. A delicious breakfast for sure…..

  2. These are so cute and delicious – I could definitely eat 5-6 in one sitting… for a snack ;)

    Happy Easter!
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. thehungrymum says:

    These look divine. I want one, now please…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

