Cherry Loaf and sleeping on the couch

All deals are off!

The LiveInBaker has committed a cardinal baking crime, and I’m not too sure whether I will be able to forgive her.

She didn’t fall victim to this absurd trend of baking everything “gluten free” (or as I refer to it, fun free), and no she hasn’t started using some sort of “healthy” artificial sweetener instead of sugar (though to be fair, she normally only uses brown or unprocessed sugar, no complaints there though). She did something far far worse!

The LiveInBaker baked, without letting me lick the bowl clean.

I know, I know, you are all thinking how I can let this go unpunished, and don’t worry I won’t!

Since Friday, all the toilet seats in the house miraculously stay up, and empty milk bottles are placed back in the fridge.

Not only that, but all the lids of all the jars in the kitchen have been closed that little bit tighter, and don’t even get me started on what is not happening with the empty toilet roll spindles.

Maybe I’m just upset, cause I missed out on an opportunity to taste:

Cherry Loaf:

Ingredients:

  • 150g margarine;
  • 625ml cake flour;
  • 10ml baking powder;
  • 2ml salt;
  • 100g glace cherries, halved (yes “plastic” cherries, I never said this was a fancy recipe);
  • 1 egg;
  • 5ml vanilla essence;
  • 125ml water;
  • 225g condensed milk (which is less than a can, which is awesome as someone has to finish what is left)
Cherries

Not so fancy, but they still taste good

Preheat your oven to 180C and spray-and-cook a 26×10 cm loaf tin. Line the loaf tin with baking paper and spray-and-cook again. Cream the margarine until light and fluffy. Sift the dry ingredients together and add the cherries.

Cherry Loaf

Ready for the oven

Add to the butter mixture, along with the remaining ingredients (whisk the egg before adding), and mix well. Turn the batter into the prepared loaf tin and bake for around 50-60 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

Cherry Loaf

Just out of the oven

Allow to cool in the tin for a bit, before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Cherry Loaf

The finished loaf

Now I might find it in my heart to forgive the LiveInBaker, but it would probably mean she would need to rebake this recipe, just for me, and yes I will be licking the mixing bowl clean afterwards!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Cherry Loaf and sleeping on the couch

  1. [...] So the LiveInbaker has been forgiven. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

