Beer, Boerewors and Biscotti

Besides beer, boerewors and rugby, there is something else altogether very South African.

This is the humble rusk.

Turns out though, they can be the devil to make! So my “Live in Baker” found something far easier to make, Biscotti.

(I am also under strict instructions to no longer refer to these as posh rusks!)

After a recent week away, to a place which only the heavily medicated might refer to as posh, I came back home to find a Tupperware full of Biscotti awaiting me (On a side note, I truly love the way that Tupperware makes it seem like there is an endless amount of whatever is held inside).

The "Posh" Rusks!

The biscotti in question were made based on a fairly standard Biscotti recipe (flour, castor sugar, baking powder, salt, eggs, vanilla essence) and then to add a variation, some almonds and dried cranberries! And to deviate from the true definition, our Biscotti was baked three times instead of the usual twice.

The finished product was around 1 cm thick, and from around 5 to 7 cm long.

The finished product is surprisingly hard, but does really well when dipped in coffee or tea, though I wouldn’t recommend dunking them into your “polisie-koffie”, but mostly because it makes you look a bit naff. And another plus, none of the residual, moist crumbs left over in the last bit of your coffee (even though I was always told to leave the last bit of coffee for the person washing the dishes).

For me, this recipe is definitely a keeper.

On a personal note, I broke a personal record, as the Biscotti lasted 1 week and 1 day, which is the longest so far any baked goods has lasted in this house.

And a final tip from the LIB, use an electric carving knife to slice.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Beer, Boerewors and Biscotti

  1. […] 3. Plan out a meal – I delegated this responsibility to the LIB. […]

  2. I actually wanted to send a quick remark so as to thank you for the remarkable techniques you are writing on this website. My considerable internet investigation has at the end been compensated with incredibly good content to write about with my partners. I would mention that many of us readers are quite lucky to be in a good network with so many wonderful individuals with valuable concepts. I feel very much privileged to have come across your entire website page and look forward to some more pleasurable moments reading here. Thanks once more for everything.

Leave a Reply

