First impression of Ghana – breakfast

I arrived in Ghana on a wet and hot as hell, evening.
Though I probably shouldn’t be complaining, because as flights go, the flight from Oliver Thambo International airport to Accra is not really that taxing. Especially now as it seems that SAA is using an upgraded plane for the flight, complete with personal tv screens ( I do need to add here that no amount of movie sequels – including Transformers 10 or the Hangover 36 – was going to win over the nap I had planned).

Immigration in Ghana is some of the easiest I have ever experienced in Africa, especially now that I have the correct visa in my passport. The one thing I do love about airports in Africa, is that you’ve normally spent such a long period of time passing through immigration, that you never have to wait for your luggage to come out.

A quick combi ride to the hotel, my pudding for the evening, and off to bed.

Yum, pudding!

Anyone who has taken malaria tablets before, can vouch that pudding they are not, but it’s just a silly way of tricking ourselves into thinking that they might not actually be the worst tasting thing someone can ever has to swallow.

There is one thing I do know about being in Ghana, and that is that it will probably be the last decent breakfast that I have until I get back. So the mornings aim is to simply make the most of it!  Bacon, sausage, eggs, toast, mushrooms, pastries, coffee, fruit juice! Drink, swallow and repeat.

I did find one of the strangest things though, chocolate chip cookies for breakfast? I could get used to this:

Seems you just sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top!

But as always, it’s just a night in Ghana before its off to Abidjan, and at least for one night I can understand what everyone is saying to me, and more importantly about me.

I realized today that I am a complete gadget geek when it comes to traveling (and I also get that all this could probably be compressed into one device, but I like to keep these things separated):

Laptop, iPad, E-reader, Blackberry, back-up cell phone, and of course the iPod I took this photo with

But now I need to stuff this all into the backpack, get the slops on, throw in a couple of bottles of mineral water and prepare myself for another stint through immigration! Maybe if I’m lucky enough, there might even be enough time to chill out in the business lounge. But on the other hand, maybe sitting in the business lounge defeats the point of travelling through Africa?
Next stop, Abidjan!
Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “First impression of Ghana – breakfast

  1. Jenni says:

    @BakedinPretoria’s chocolate chip cookies for Breakfast: I saw the same thing in Europe… in France, chocolate crepes for anytime of day (including brekkie) and breakfast chocolate doughnuts: Not as sweet as a regular doughnut, but the perfect end to a holiday breakfast!

Leave a Reply

